I’ve been so busy lately.  I work full time, I sell Avon on the side, trying to recruit for my Avon business, blogging, doctor’s appointments and vet appointments and on top of all of that I’m looking to buy a new house.  Needless to say I am stressing.  I was wondering if this stress was the reason my skin looks so bad lately, so I looked up what exactly stress is doing to me.

Turns out stress actually affects a person physically, not just mentally.  Stress causes your body to produce cortisol and other hormones, which tells your sebaceous glands to produce more oil. Oily skin is more prone to acne and other skin problems.  This is why I’m breaking out like crazy.  Ugh, my skin is a mess.  What also happens is the hormones are in overdrive so any existing skin problems do not heal.  So you have the old problems mixed with new problems which leads to a very unhappy face..

So short of living in a cave away from stress, what can we do?

1. Try to reduce the stress as much as you can and do things that relieve stress like take a walk, exercise, meditate, etc.

2. Do not neglect your skin care regime no matter how stressed and busy you get. Do a weekly face mask that is good for your skin.  I will do a separate blog about facial masks so keep coming back to see it :).

3. Get plenty of sleep.  Sleep is when your skin regenerates.  That is why they call it “Beauty Sleep”.

Check out skin care sets on my website.   http://www.youravon.com/donnaettinger

