I wrote a blog the other day on the importance of sunblock and sunscreen.  Do you think I listened to my own advice?  Ummm, no.  Well I applied it initially, but then swimming and eating and talking all happened on Memorial Day and the reapplication fell to the wayside.  It’s not too bad, probably because I did use SPF 30 initially and when I started to feel a sting on my skin I got out of the sun.  So my boyfriend and I were talking about what is the best thing to put on a sunburn.

 Indulge in some aloe

Aloe gel is my go to for sunburn relief.  It is cool, soothing, and seems to suck the sting and redness right out of your sunburn.  You can get some good quality aloe vera gel at: https://www.avon.com/product/51378/avon-sun-after-sun-aloe-gel

Drink plenty of liquid

A sunburn, is a burn and it pulls all the moisture to the surface of the skin.  Make sure you drink plenty of water to rehydrate your skin and help in the healing process.

Avoid soaps

Do not soak in soapy water, or take a bubble bath. Soap can dry out and irritate your already irritated skin. If you want to soak or submerge it, do so in a cool or luck warm bath. When you’re done, pat yourself gently dry with a clean soft towel (be sure not to rub.) If you take a shower make sure the water isn’t coming out at a strong pace.  That can hurt and damage the skin even more.

Moisturize

After a cool shower or bath, slather on a moisturizing cream or lotion to soothe the skin. Repeat frequently to make peeling and flaking less noticeable. And consider a product containing vitamin C and vitamin E. Do Not scrub, pick or peel your skin or breaking blisters.  This can cause infection and scarring.  Try  the Moisture Therapy Daily Skin Moisturizer that is infused with vitamins A, C, E, B5 and antioxidants   https://www.avon.com/product/52940/moisture-therapy-daily-skin-defense-body-lotion

