I have been trying to get my 19 year old niece, Coryn, to try Avon make up.  She is an avid user of expensive make up like MAC and Urban Decay so she was very reluctant to try it.  I had her come over last night and do her make up like usual but only using Avon make up.  She was surprised and looked beautiful as always at more than half the price of the make up she usually uses.  I wanted my niece to be the one to do this step by step make up session because she is a regular make up wearer and is pretty good at doing it.  She gave me a bunch of makeup tips along the way.

Here she is with a freshly cleaned face....no makeup
Here she is with a freshly cleaned face….no makeup

The first thing she did was pluck her eyebrows and get her face ready for makeup using and all over primer.  We talked about plucking your eyebrows in my last post to help brighten your eyes and make your makeup look more complete.

Coryn has dark circles and bags under her eyes.  Notice how she uses concealer in a triangle pattern.
Coryn has dark circles and bags under her eyes. Notice how she uses concealer in a triangle pattern.
She puts on the rest of her foundation and is using a blending brush...very important to get a more natural look.
She puts on the rest of her foundation and is using a blending brush…very important to get a more natural look

She then did something I never heard of before.  After putting on all of her foundation and blending it very well, she let her foundation set for 5 minutes before putting on a translucent powder.  It did make a difference.  You could not see the blending strokes on her face after it had time to set.

Eyeshadow was next.  Like we talked about in the last post use 3 colors.
Eyeshadow was next. Like we talked about in the last post use 3 colors.
1855
A tip that Coryn taught me was to push the color onto the lid instead of sweeping it on.

She used a neutral pink on the eyelid, a smokey color for the crease and corner and a cream highlighter for below the brow and the inside corner of the eye.  She used the Always on Point eyeliner and Big And Daring Mascara to round off the look.

Check out these lashes with Big and Daring Mascara
Check out these lashes with Big and Daring Mascara

1859

Her eyes just pop after she finishes off the look.  Her eyelashes are just gorgeous.  So much volume.

All done...just beautiful
All done…just beautiful

Here is the review Coryn left after trying all the Avon make up:

“So let’s start this out with I have never used Avon makeup before. I’m very loyal to M.A.C and other brands sold at Sephora. However. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. I love trying new products so I tried Avon for the first time. For primer I used “MagiX face perfector” it was silky and blended out very nice. I would compare this to the “porefessional” primer from Benefit. It felt the same, it mattified my skin and reduced the appearance of my pores. Which I love. The main thing it did was help with my oily skin! Next for under eye and correction on my blemishes I used “Anew Age transforming 2-in-1 compact foundation” it was very creamy, and gave great coverage. For powder to set it all in I used “Ideal flawless pressed powder” I loved this powder. It felt light weight and it feels like the sephora brand powder that I have in my own makeup bag. (that is also double the price). For blush I used ” Ideal luminous blush” I have a Love/hate relationship with blush. I use M.A.C’s blush but I can never find a good color to go with my skin tone. I HAVE FINALLY FOUND IT! The blush was just as pigmented as all my high end blushes I have from Urban Decay, M.A.C, & Benefit. For eyeshadow I used “Eye dimensions eyeshadow” Wow was this pigmented! I have pigment pots from M.A.C and it is just as pigmented as this! I was so shocked! Trust me when I say a little bit will goes a LONG WAY! for eyeliner I used ” Always on point eyeliner” I normally used liquid liner, and I normally HATE any other type of liner because it will smudge, but let me tell you this stuff locks in place and does not move. I love it! I saved the best for last, mascara! I have recently been on the hunt for a great mascara. I had individual lashes put on and as they came off my natural lashes went with it so I have short eyelashes. With that being said I need close to a miracle. This mascara worked like magic I have long full lashes. They looked like I just put on a set of falsies. I was so impressed. And that’s a big deal for me. I’ve tried Every mascara in Sephora. This mascara I used is called “Big and daring volume mascara” when they say volume they are not kidding. Overall I was super impressed with all the products I tried. And they were all half price of what I pay at Sephora or M.A.C. !!!”
Try Avon make up for yourself at http://www.youravon.com/donnaettinger
Here skin came out a little light because of the flash on my camera, but look how flawless her skin looks, and those eyes are so beautiful
Her skin came out a little light because of the flash on my camera, but look how flawless her skin looks, and those eyes are so beautiful
 

 

