All my life I have battled with my weight.  When I was younger I was super active.  I didn’t even realize what I was doing was exercising.  We were always out on our bikes or running around (literally) the neighborhood.  Tag, it, kick the can….all part of my weekly fun.  I was a swimmer, cheerleader, played volleyball and went to the roller rink every weekend.  I was healthy and athletic.

Then college hit.  I went to class, studied and had fun but was no longer active like I was before.  I gained more than the freshmen 15 and didn’t stop there.  I was on my own to pick what I wanted to eat.  No mom to fix me a well rounded meal full of veggies.  I made bad choices.  I still make bad choices.  Problem now is I have to worry about health issues that ran in our family.  Both mom and dad had diabetes and high blood pressure.  A college student doesn’t think about those kind of things.

After college my weight would go up and down.  I would get on health kicks and then purge on junk food.  Now here I am in my 40’s.  I have diabetes and high blood pressure….go figure.  I am in a fantastic relationship and in the last 9 months I have gained 25 pounds….ugh….I guess that is what happens when you are in love.  I feel like a lump and am the biggest I have ever been.

Time to do something about it.  I started watching what I eat….way more fruit, veggies and less chocolate and ice cream.  I’m back in the gym and this is me today.  It’s only been a week and I’m down 6 pounds.  My sugar has gone down.  At first it came down really fast and I felt horrible but that just shows me how much sugar I was actually eating everyday.  Horrible for my health.  Today I sweated it out at the gym and as the sweat was dripping down my face all I kept thinking about was how beautiful I feel….weird, huh?   I feel better than I did a week ago and I am just going to keep on going.  I’m blogging about it to keep me on track, so expect to see updates often.

http://www.youravon.com/donnaettinger

